My First NanoWriMo this Year!

For the first time this November, I’ve signed up to National Novel Writing Month. The aim is to write 50 000 words of a novel within a month.

On previous years, I avoided it, muttering something about not wanting people telling me when to write, that I can do things at my own pace, thank you. I don’t want to be jollied along.

Why is this year different?

A big difference is that I have recently become a full-time writer, so, ‘I’ll write when I feel like it, I’ve just worked a ten hour shift actually’ doesn’t cut it any more. Now, every month should be yielding 50 000 words at least, allowing for research, editing etc.

Taking part in Nano should hopefully give me a kind of kickstart into that level of literary production with lots of others in the same boat.

I really enjoyed creating the world of The Assassin of Laurentium earlier this year for the MM Romance Group’s Love’s Landscape’s Event and I plan to expand my work on that world into further works. By the end of Nano, I hope to have the working draft of a novella to polish which would be satisfying.

So, I hope this plunge into the world of NanoWriMo will prove fun and productive, and I shall be updating here on my progress…

9 thoughts on “My First NanoWriMo this Year!

  1. Good luck with your NaNo quest – not to mention taking the plunge and writing full-time! That’s amazing!

    I’m not doing NaNo because I need to learn how to kick back and not write … but this year I’ve probably written about 500 000 words between writing and redrafting (two full-length novels, one novellette, a handful of short stories, the beginning of a third novel … and school, working on Platform, my job, suffering severe depression). So I’m here to cheer on those who are.

    *brings out streamers*

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚

      Sounds like you’ve had a very intense and productive year all round with a lot to juggle. That’s a very impressive output for a year. You certainly don’t need any additional incentives/pressure to get yourself going. Of course it’s important to relax and take care of oneself too.

    • Thanks JP! Yes, this is going to be a mere taster for months to come.. The full time writing gig is going to be an interesting challenge, but sometimes you have to take a leap..

Leave a Reply

